A right to have fun

June 13, 2003

lunch with a friend, thoughts..

Peaceful - it's so quiet in here. I don't know if I am the first to arrive or the last to leave..

The sky is smouldering; yet another storm is brewing but the tropical heat of the last few days has died down.

The waiting is over, for now. Things will continue as they have done, but it is time to get moving, to think about the future, to plan and to dream.

I had lunch with a friend yesterday; she was half an hour late and then we talked for ages and went shopping afterwards. By the time I left her it was four o'clock! (We met at 12.30).. What a strange day. I was supposed to be at work.

Random thoughts.. Remember what a crazy feeling it is, to be swept off your feet by somebody? How you can feel as though you're drowning and gasping for air, jittery and can't stay still, how you crave their presence like a drug? Remember how perfect it all seems, and how fragile - it could all get blown away at any moment. Plus, what have I done to deserve this person? It's a crazy feeling. I was talking to this friend I had lunch with yesterday, and she only met her boyfriend 6 months ago, and he wants to marry her already. She is running scared. She's not young. But I kind of understand how she feels - she wants to preserve that 'discovery' period, without having to sink into the mundane...........