A right to have fun

July 07, 2003

redundancies and life

Back 'home' again. I am confused about where is home and what is real. I miss my family and friends when I'm here, but it is good to be back here, because it's where most of my stuff is, and it's our home. For now. But everything feels so temporary and I am the only one with a real job and even that is uncertain. So we could have to go back anytime.

The weather is gorgeous today though. And I am moving at work, away from all the people it has taken me a year to get to know, into the middle of lots of new people, but I am ready for the challenge I think. It is going to be horrible - I hate change - but everything changes constantly in this company. Keep up or die!

I think I am young enough that I can cope with the challenges, but I feel sorry for the older ones who just get worn out.

And I was sorry to see people last week, friends really, not just work colleagues, who are being kicked out to reduce costs. I wish them all luck. And hey, it could be me next week too!!

groan