A right to have fun

June 02, 2003

summer heat and a desire for pink t-shirts

After a very very hot night (temperatures only, ahem) which followed a very hot day, I woke up to a gorgeous tropical steamy morning. It had just stopped raining, and everything was fresh and humid, but in a good way (is humidity ever good except in a rain forest?).

I was kept awake for hours last night while Mr snored away. It wasn't the snoring that bothered me though, it was the people downstairs in the apartment below. First they had their evening meal at 2 am. This was a Sunday night. Interesting. THen they did the washing up quite loudly and put everything away in cupboards, bang bang bang crash. Then it was quiet for about 30 minutes. And then there was another banging sound, which got louder and faster, and was suddenly accompanied by squealing and panting. Yes so they had very noisy sex at about 3 am, with all the windows open (it was very hot, poor things). I am going to think up some way of annoying them back, possibly by having loud sex at about 7 am or some inconvenient time for them. I just didn't want to hear their intimate moment, you know?!

Anyway, after the heat and noise I didn't really sleep well. The office is definitely not air-conditioned enough and I am dripping. I feel like the trees outside. Drip drip drip. Just one day, I would love to be able to wear pink, or pale blue, or another nice light summer shade, instead of safe white-because-it-doesn't-show-the-sweat. misery. I look at people on the way to work dressed in their nice coloured clothing and I wonder what it must feel like to be able to go around without patches under your arms. And I do wash. I do wear deoderant. But nothing really works. I'm obviously highly evolved (??!)...