A right to have fun

May 30, 2003

Palatial surroundings

Ohhhhhhhhh my goodness it is nearly JUNE already. Where has this year gone? It is quite incredible. One minute it was raining sodden January and freezing cold and now it is 30 degrees (C for anyone who was wondering) and gorgeous sunshine. I visited a palace yesterday. Sumptuous gardens scattered with golden light, bright green late-spring leaves waving in the gentle breeze. It was magical. There was a lake, but no swans. A palace of enchantment, its lawns overrun by the 'commoners'. A vibrant throng of delightful chatter and children. Picnics on the lawns. People riding bicycles, rowing boats, eating ice-creams, soaking up the sunshine (I got a bit burnt so I had to skulk in the shade for a while). Such a short distance to travel and such a transposition to another world. Beautiful. I think greenery helps my mind to focus away from the unpleasantness.