A right to have fun

July 10, 2003

jobs and salaries here

ohhhhhhhhhh it is so frustrating. I can't get used to the attitude here over salaries and work and people. There's a girl I know who is quite a lot older than me, she's 29, and she's on a really low salary, and has asked for a raise and some people don't want her to have that raise because she's just a junior. I feel annoyed sometimes that life is getting ahead of me and there are things I want to achieve and do, but if I were her I would just leave. Walk out. Because there's no way, at her level, doing the work she does, she should be described as a junior. But hey. That is how it works here.

First you study till you're about 35, then you work, then you retire at about 55. Okay, I'm exaggerating. But it is still extremely annoying and I want to kick someone in the shins.

hehehe

une situation completement merdique..

meanwhile I wanted to scream because I have less training and fewer qualifications than she does and I am paid more than her and I am younger. I would have loved to say it all, tell them how stupid and insensitive and repulsive they all were, sitting round the table all smug with their coffee-stained teeth. But they'd only have wondered what the **** I was doing in MY job and never have listened to me again.

Europe's weird. They try to harmonise everything, but there are more rifts in this place than in San Andreas.