A right to have fun

August 07, 2003

heat and fan shortage

back home for a few days to visit parents, dog, etc etc. To walk by the sea, to relax, to eat meals in the garden. Returned here to find someone has replaced our flat with a fully-functioning furnace. It is hotter than anything ever. The entire city must be on meltdown, it is really weird, why is it so hot??? I spent yesterday touring the city to buy a fan for our bedroom. I set out with such optimism; right, off I go to buy a fan, maybe two if I can carry them. DUH. Of course when I arrived at the first department store there was some kind of angry mob scene with people queuing to buy the last one, it was hysterical and most unpleasant.

From there things just got worse. Went to a few shops where the staff just glared at me and the other poor unfortunates looking for fans. They didn't bother telling us that they'd either sold out or never sold them in the first place though, it was much funnier to watch us walk disconsolately around the shops in search of what we couldn't get.

I tried everywhere. Even places I knew weren't worth trying.

Our neighbour across the hall has one, I saw it in her kitchen this morniing, out of our bathroom window. If she wasn't so nice I'd think about stealing it!! No, I wouldn't, but it does feel terrible when it's so very very hot and airless.

And I'm on holiday with nowhere to go. Boo.

never mind.