A right to have fun

August 22, 2003

last night

So I was curled up on the couch reading pulp novels, just the kind of useless rubbish that wanders through my mind to keep it entertained, all evening, what bliss! He was out working, and I got so much done - nothing useful like tidying our increasingly messy home but I DID do all the washing-up earlier and emptied the dishwasher which is a start, believe me! Anyway, I don't know what got into me but when he left I immediately started making a batch of brownies from scratch, and with that gorgeous smell wafting round the room I sat and sketched out my entry for a watercolour competition and then I finished off my ceramics stuff and it was only then that I sank down on the couch with the drippy novel.

And some lovely music (that he hates) on the stereo, just so that I could listen to it without annoying him, and then he came in and we talked and had fun and while he had a bath I worked some more on my picture (it was after midnight but I was on a roll) and the windows were all open and it was a soft summer night and I loved it.

I like evenings like that, they don't happen often enough. Mostly I am all cranky and grouchy from work, or all strung out, but because I'd been playing artist all day I was in a good mood.

:-)