A right to have fun

August 26, 2003

nice people

I had a nice day yesterday. It was one of those incredible days which happen really rarely when everyone you run into is NICE for a change. Instead of grumpy people. I'm mainly talking about strangers really I suppose. But anyway. The plumber had to come to fix our shower and he was so sweet! (don't get me wrong, he was just a nice person!) He genuinely liked our flat, and he was really just nice, unexpectedly. Not creepy, not sour-faced, not grouchy, just nice.

Then I ran into one of our neighbours in the street, and it has to be said she is noticeably smiley compared with most of the old bags who live round us. So we had a chat (I know my neighbours - how cool is that?!) and then I had to go and buy a clothes rack (having one of those exciting days again hmm...!) and the people in the shop were nice and it was a sunny day and I wasn't at work, I was busy putting together a clothes rack, only at one point I thought some parts were missing so I phoned the shop and they were so funny, not at all patronising, they just explained where the parts where. I FELT SO STUPID!!!! I NEVER do that kind of thing - ever. I have put together tons of flat-pack furniture, made things for years, and NEVER not been able to find some damn screws which were right under my nose. It was a very chastening experience. But hey, it's good for you.

What else? Oh I don't know, it was just a good day. Except for a few rows with Mr when he got in, just because I was feeling grumpy all of a sudden - exahusted after all the pleasantries.....

But then we went to the cinema (AGAIN - that's quite enough visits for the time being - it's theatre or a concert next time I think) and everything was fine.

Tonight it's a picnic with friends, and tomorrow a good friend of mine is coming to stay.

busy!