A right to have fun

October 10, 2003

running late is always exhilarating

Wow I had one of those movie experiences this morning

no no wake up, this is a good one!

I got to work, yawn yawn, bought coffee and breakfast, set about answering my mail, checking my phone messages, etc etc then found I was invited last minute (or rather confirmed as attending) a meeting with a senior cabinet member and loads of high-ranking politicians in 30 minutes time. My mind went actually numb with panic for about 15 seconds, and then I just grabbed my suit jacket (thank you, whoever made me choose that this morning on a Friday instead of a sweater, thank you!) and raced for the door. I got in the lift. Down down down, would the fall never come to an end? (sorry Lewis)

Then RAN to the train station. Got a train. Rang a friend, asked her where I needed to get off. She read a map. I got control. Got to the meeting on the other side of town (almost) in under 20 minutes and made it with time to spare so I wasn't all sweaty and horrible when I arrived.

Amazing.

Okay that really wasn't a very exciting story, maybe you're right, but never mind, it felt pretty exciting to accomplish. I mean, it would have been utter disaster if I'd not made it.

Okay I'll get on with something quiet in my corner!