A right to have fun

April 29, 2004

yucky people

Had such a WEIRD lunch yesterday. With a guy I work with, although who isn't in my company. I am 99% sure he is gay anyway, but I think he is very traditional and is having problems accepting this side of himself. As a result, despite the fact he obviously prefers guys, he makes a really over-the-top effort to be super macho and to flirt and chat up girls, only he just does it all wrong.

Anyway. We had lunch and he started hassling me to leave my boyfriend and run off with him. It was one of those things where its meant to be a joke, but it sort of isn't, and then everything gets confused. I just felt quite sick really, it's sort of horrible when people expect that you'll think they are so amazing you'd even be semi-interested in letting go someone who is really important to you. Even if it is a joke. Maybe I'm too sensitive. But it felt really nasty. I can't explain it. Nasty I guess because he was trying to be something he wasn't, anyway.

So that was that. And so afterwards I just went home, instead of going back to work. And I just felt sick all afternoon so then I went to the gym, although I am really so unfit it is funny. I only last about 20 minutes and then give up. I love sport, real sport, like climbing mountains or skiing or swimming or running or something, but hanging out in a gym with - - - I've said this before.

Never mind.

Just feeling rattled because my boss is in town today!