A right to have fun

July 08, 2004

too many concerns of little importance

Sleepy today, Mr is working till late and coming in after midnight this week and I need to get up at 7am, which isn't the end of the world but which makes me sleepy.

It's a sunny morning but it did this yesterday and then turned into the most dramatic storms, lashing the city with heavy rain and bursts of wind and lightning and thunder. Very exhilarating, viewed from inside!!

Mr's brother-in-law is coming either tonight or tomorrow, which is fun. He's so nice. He's in town on business which means he won't stay with us, which is easy, we just have to feed him and entertain him. The next few weekends are super busy. Lots of stuff happening, family and friends coming to stay, Mr's birthday, friends birthdays, yayy. Plus my "family"'s major party for all the anniversaries and birthdays that are happening all at the same time. It's one of those weird years, everyone seems to have hit 30 or 50 or 70 or have been married for 25 years or turned 18 or whatever. So they decided to have a big 'party' which will just be some giant lunch thing outside in the mountains somewhere I guess. Usually a huge barbecue. I'm seriously nervous about it, although I love the entire - large - family, because I'll have to maybe see x again, which I wouldn't necessarily mind, but this time I'll have Mr with me, and he is sooooo sensitive and jealous it will really hurt him having to meet an ex. Also, x is kind of weird looking (hello, I only hung out with him because there was noone else to talk to!!!)so I'm also suffering from a pride thing - Mr is bound to think 'oh my god, she was with HIM - has she no standards?!!' which of course will ruin my reputation as sex goddess. ha ha. No but seriously it could be one weird meeting. So I'm hoping he doesn't turn up. X's brother lives abroad, far away, so maybe now is an excellent time for x to go and stay with him????? Sigh. There are so many complications in life, quite enough without weddings and house moving to worry about!

I spoke to my mother last night about clothes, she's started to get all excited about what to wear to our wedding (if it happens), but since she's a virtual recluse in some respects -apart from the fact she has lots of friends- she refuses to drive to cities and shop properly, she just orders stuff from catalogues. And the clothes can be kind of icky. Sometimes the stuff she gets looks okay, but it's a real shame - she is quite beautiful and has a really nice figure but swathes herself in sort of drapey clothes that make her look pretty shabby sometimes. Not that I care. She is my mother and she is absolutely wonderful, truly amazing, but she has totally weird taste in clothes, and I thought maybe she'd wear something wacko for the wedding and in fact she's gone the other way, going for something really conventional but sort of cheap looking. She always goes for cheap things which wear out faster. Anyway. Who cares. It doesn't matter, but I don't want her to spend (another)fortune on something she doesn't really like just because she thinks it will please me. I just want her to be there and happy. And also the date we're thinking of is just when she's back from her first vacation in about 10 years (it's taken her a long time to work up the courage to go) and I'm worried that she will get too tired and exhausted and overexcited. Her health isn't very good. Oh well. We'll see.

Worries, eh?!

Let me see, there must be something else I can find to worry about?....... Job, money, wedding, moving house, mother, father, Mr, ... doing pretty well so far so maybe I'll stop!!