A right to have fun

September 29, 2004

second entry today - mean father rant

Well if I haven't got grey hair and wrinkles and a stomach ulcer for my wedding I will be surprised. My father is unbelievable. I'm so sorry to anyone reading this - it is painful. He sent me yet another ranting email this morning, spitting fire over various elements to do with the wedding, all revolving around him and his problems and nothing nice to me at all. It's my wedding. It is - I know I'm being selfish but oh my goodness. I got sent flowers by my colleagues, bought dinner by my friends, and then all he has done is complain and get angry. For 5 months. Never a nice word, a supportive message.
Anyway I answered his stinking questions and all I got was a 'oh thanks, the rest of the family are being really annoying about all of this' - hello??? No apology for wrecking my day - AGAIN? None of them are being anything other than nice, he is the only problem. It is enough to make me tear my hair out - a bald bride?!
I can't really explain how terrible he's been. I just phoned up my mother and cried. I know that's a selfish thing to do too, but she was so sweet. I bawled in an empty office I found, and we talked, and then I felt better. I am such a wimp. But everyone talks about 'floating on air' - I truly think I would be, without his problems. I try to ignore it, but it is impossible.