A right to have fun

April 19, 2005

looking for work

I had another recruitment interview today (ie not an interview for a job, just meeting some guy from an agency). It was probably the worst. Really intense and I HATE talking about myself (which obviously you'd never guess from the fact I ramble on in an online diary, but hey). It made me feel pretty useless, but also encouraged. I've had a lot of meetings and first interviews (with agencies, no jobs) in the last three weeks, and I've been really busy. Now I'm coming to the end of that first section, and I'm going to have to root around and find some more contacts. I'm taking it quite slowly, in a way, but I still have almost two months of work left anyway. I just want to be earning money immediately I leave, so that we don't have to eat into my payoff. I now know there's no way I'll find a job as specific as I want in that time, so I'm going to have to get some kind of temporary job, but that's okay too. I met someone the other day who said there's a secretary in her department who's got a masters in Ancient Greek. Just goes to show..... you can be super brainy and still do a reasonably simple job (cue lots of flaming from annoyed secretaries, but I don't mean it that way - anyway I've done it before and I'll do it again and it is NOT an easy job).
So. It's a sunny day and Mr and I will go out running later I guess. I tried on some suits after my interview, which left me feeling quite wiped out. I liked the suits, but I also liked about a million other things, so I gave up and came home because fairly soon we are going to be VERY POOR with no money coming in. I wish Mr would get a job. I wish he'd even start looking for one!!! He's so hopeless. Lovely, and he's wonderful, but he doesn't see the urgency of it all. I had total hysterics last week because the pressure got too much. I was in the middle of an argument with him and I just started screaming and crying. It was quite weird. I was sort of outside myself looking at myself at the same time, thinking, wow I am really screaming, and at the same time I was just crying uncontrollably. Mr was really sorry for me and sad and supportive, but I don't think he realises how much pressure it puts me under.
Oh well. He's really seen me at my worst and it doesn't seem to bother him. That's one good thing!!
Keep smiling!