A right to have fun

April 04, 2005

another weekend gone!

I had a few moments of panic last week over giving up my job (the big wide world awaits, but we have bills and rent to pay...!) but overall I still feel an overwhelming sense of relief.
So it's good. We had a weird weekend. Went to Mr's father's for a dinner party and it was just lousy. Partly it was weird anyway, hanging out with a group of 60 year-olds for an evening's entertainment (not that I have a problem with that, it's more the kind of people they were). Partly it was annoying because they're all having affairs with each other and the tension was horrible. Weird. Strange problems they bring on themselves. So then we had Sunday lunch with Mr's stepfather (nothing is simple in either of our families), and we had expected it to be awful because his girlfriend is a monster (ie the evil stepmother from hell), but actually it was a really nice lunch, the food was good and they were good company. I am so relieved. It was nice to find them in good moods, and to relax a bit. Adults - I'll never understand them!!