A right to have fun

February 24, 2004

Peace

Long day yesterday, very dull, then a sort of magical thing happened. I was sitting at my desk minding my own business (i.e. not working very hard) when suddenly the sky went black and snow starting coming down really thickly. I mean REALLY thickly. Huge huge feathers of flakes swirling everywhere outside the window. So that was really exciting. Then I left early (ostensibly to go and pick up my train ticket, which I did do, but I didn't need quite so much time to do it in). When I got home, two bunches of irises we bought at the weekend had burst out into the most amazing flowers. They were exquisite. The sky was still all strange and lowering, dark clouds with rays of sun coming out from underneath, a really strange and peaceful light over all the rooftops. So I sat down with a pen and ink and some paints and painted for an hour until Mr came home and we went to sport.

It was a really peaceful end to my work day, and I was also really pleased with my drawings yippee (that is what is known as 'blowing your own trumpet').

Then of course it all got ruined by having to make about 800 calls on behalf of my friends to translate stuff for them and it got REALLY annoying - but I don't want to talk about that.