A right to have fun

March 10, 2004

Sunny day

I'm away again. It is funny, returning 'home', because everything is very familiar, but everything has continued to change while I've been away. Maybe I've written about this before, but I haven't got time to go back and check, so excuse me!

Little things have moved on, offices and shops change, products change, colours and fashions change, and it is all slightly different compared with where I live now, and the life I have there. Odd.

The weirdest thing is how the company has changed, and my colleagues, and the office, while I've been away. A few years ago, if I came in at 8.30 the office was half-full. This morning I was in at 9, thinking I'd be 'late' and no-one was here until 9.30 at the earliest. Woo-woo - brownie points for me!!!

Anyway. None of it matters, but it gives me a kick to my self-esteem and reminds me that although things are hard where I am, I've managed to make a home for myself, and to adapt to living somewhere entirely different, with an entirely different language, culture and customs.