A right to have fun

June 15, 2004

stupid stupid woman!

Soooo what's new? My friend comes home from Canada tomorrow morning and his mother is like 'call him up and ask what time his flight arrives because I've been given two different times and I can't work it out' and I said 'what's the FLIGHT number (*thinks* you idiot)?'

So I worked it out from that rather than call him again because I am never phoning that house in Canada again since his host mother thinks I am completely and utterly crazy and insane and probably a stalker because his mother had me calling there for the most ridiculous reasons all winter. Okay he's 18 and he'd never been very far from home before and he's not been that great at fitting in and he can't really speak the language, but HE wanted to do it, he wanted to go and it's up to him to sort it out or ASK for help, not have his stupid mother chasing him around from across the Atlantic shouting 'be careful if you go cross-country skiing not to get lost'. I swear she actually asked me to ask his hostmother that. It nearly drove me insane, her stupid stupid questions. And I'm only the interpreter, but when you get more than two people involved you are going to have problems because words get twisted really quickly. So I had to cut out most of the questions she wanted me to ask and even then the things she actually FORCED me to ask (on the phone at her house) were just STUPID.

I am ranting. But now he's coming home I'm just so relieved I won't have to do it again. And why not go and visit him? Why be scared of no-one speaking your language rather than being scared of flying, say, like normal people?

Anyway I should be seeing them this evening as they're coming by on their way to pick him up tomorrow morning (at WHATEVER time..........) and it will be nice to see them, despite my ranting. Only his mother is already convinced we'll miss one another. Well not if we make proper arrangements you doofus.

Do people still say doofus? I think it should make a come-back.

Anyway. This is probably my longest entry ever, so make the most of it!