A right to have fun

June 16, 2004

oh my goodness they are crazy!!

Oh well.... Last night we drove out to meet my family (not my real family, my family I used to work for, who I've stayed close to). They are staying near us to pick up their son who is home from Canada today. (see yesterday).

Anyway. I don't know if I can be bothered to write all this out, but they gave us the craziest directions ever. We got so lost looking for them, driving through rush-hour traffic, and then around in the suburbs. And they weren't in the place they said they were, they got all the names wrong, they told us to take wrong roads, there were no clear directions (hello - "We're near a small lake. Well it's kind of a pond - why don't you stop the car and ask directions to it?"). It got worse and worse. "We're by a small football field". "there's a tunnel you need to drive down near the motorway", "okay, we'll drive and meet you near 'the forest' (which is 35 square miles)". AAAAAAAAH. It took us almost three hours and hundreds of calls on cellphones to actually meet, and they weren't where they said they were after all, and didn't know where they were and Mr was about close to erupting (we had several fights in the car trying to find them). It's kind of hard to explain but it was amazingly frustrating.

Plus then we were supposed to be eating in a restaurant but they'd 'cooked' dinner - yucky food out of cans, yummy. I love them very very much but they also drive me crazy - I suppose it's like my own family really! So that was our fun night.

It was good to see them though. I miss them a lot.

The weather is changing. It's been quite hot lately but now it looks like it is getting cooler. There are big pudgy clouds hanging around.

Last night when we were waiting for the millionth phone call, we stopped the car by a beautiful big house on the edge of the forest, and the sun was slanting through the trees and the leaves were all green and the stone of the house was a lovely cream and it was so peaceful and the birds were singing. So cool and fresh compared with the city a few miles away. Mmm..