A right to have fun

June 22, 2004

magic evening

Got to think about my dress soon... I had loads of ideas and had found some good things but with all the stuff happening last week and with the SEVERE lack of funds on offer from my father, I sort of forgot to think about it.

Did I mention the toads at the weekend? There were toads living under the stairs (outside) of this house we stayed at. We started to hear a strange beeping sound in the afternoon on Saturday and thought it might be an alarm or something. It was just going 'beep.....beep' every now and then. Gradually more beeps of different pitches joined in, and the gardener happened to drive up to say hello and we asked him if he knew what it was and he said it was toads. We didn't believe him at first, it sounded nothing like an animal! Then it was the most beautiful mysterious music once there were several of them all singing. It got dark, and the stars were out, and the crickets were chirping quietly and the toads were singing. It was so peaceful.

Last night I lay in bed listening to the rain dripping everywhere and the cars swishing through the wet. I like that sound when I'm going to sleep. There's also a piece of metal somewhere outside our window which catches the rain like an oriental temple bell sound, just one note, sounding over and over. It pings gently in a really soft tone and is very pretty to listen to.