A right to have fun

June 28, 2004

I bet my father is fuming right now

Amazing and terrible:

Friday night we went out with friends who were staying the night and we had a fantastic meal and stayed up till 4am and it was really good fun but then Mr developed really really bad food poisoning next morning so that was bad.

Saturday I met up with a girl friend and we had lunch and went to all the seriously expensive designer shops which are conveniently all in one street, pretty much. We had never been in before, and were drifting from Dior to Chanel to Gucci to wherever, and I was kind of nervously occasionally trying dresses on and feeling really intimidated and in the middle of it all I suddenly found MY dress, and it is perfect and beautiful AND IT WAS IN THE SALE so I got a designer dress and it is the most amazing thing ever. I was so happy. And still am, when I think of it.

But then the terrible part was my father left a message on voicemail during the Saturday (Mr was feeling too sick to answer the phone and anyway he didn't know what he'd say to my father because he's pretty annoyed with him). And he basically left a message saying 'could you please not have your wedding in x month because my daughter is busy doing this and that and we can't make it'. Ermm, and I'm NOT your daughter??? I think we just set the wedding date and if it clashes with your daughter's school trip or whatever you just have to make some decisions, buddy!! I mean, it's not a school trip, she's been invited on holiday with friends, for what will be her THIRD vacation this year (that I know of, there may be more) and she's 13. Hello?? I have to organise my wedding around my 13 year-old half sister? What about my mother? My grandparents? Mr's parents? Etc etc?

I was so mad. I can't really convey how annoying he is and I suspect I'm coming across as pretty selfish and mean, but honestly, this is the guy who has ruined several major events in my life (including numerous birthdays) with his selfishness, who has upset his parents and his sister by not going to various birthday gatherings and weddings and stuff and now he's making a fuss about mine? Well considering the money he's putting up is peanuts I don't think he gets a say in what we do or where. I really wouldn't mind if he wasn't getting involved at all and was being really vague, but not being involved financially and being pushy about timing and location is weird. I also think he has to grit his teeth and accept that we have commitments ourselves, and a life of our own to organise. I sent him an email (avoiding all conversations now) and said what we were thinking of quite bluntly (for me). So I bet he's furious because I've been being really cagey about dates and ideas so that I don't upset him, and now he's pushed me into a corner I've said something definite and it just HAPPENS to clash with his plans. Oh dear.

I feel so mixed up, so angry and upset on one hand and really remorseful and sad on the other.

But now (superficiality reigns!!) I can just think about my gorgeous dress and plan things.