A right to have fun

June 30, 2004

head full of beautiful music

yeeaah went to see the Magic Flute last night with a friend, it was so beautiful. It is also FUNNY, I love it that 200 year-old jokes can still make an audience laugh. The costumes were absolutely breathtaking and I can feel my old Theatre Studies training coming out as I could write a whole essay on what the set designer and lighting person and costume designer were trying to convey at different times, and why they'd chosen certain motifs, and how they reflected some of the musical 'tics' in the costumes and movements.. Oh it was so great. I was blown away.. I miss going to opera and ballet and when we move back HOME (boo) I think we should go more often. Mr used to take me to the opera for birthdays and stuff a lot, playing grown-ups. We never go here.

Anyway. I'm happy!