A right to have fun

July 05, 2004

more wedding stuff so skip this entry if it bores you!!

Wow, this is getting monstrous.. I emailed my aunt (Dad's sister) to tell her things were going slowly with wedding preparations, partly because we had a 'small budget' (you can't call me miss tactless!!) and she said my dad had just inherited $25000 and that was how much my cousin (her daughter)'s wedding cost last year so wouldn't that be perfect??? Wouldn't it just. Half that would be great.

So I have definite proof he's just being mean. But now I don't know what to do. I could tell her what he's actually offered ($1800) and have her hit the roof and call him and stir up all kinds of trouble, or I could not. But either way I am going to have to tell her what money we're working with or she won't understand when we can't invite half the family to our wedding! So I'll have to find a really nice way of putting it so she can't go crazy. And hey, my father may be a complete bastard at the moment, but maybe he has his own reasons. After all he's always been one, so why change now?!! I don't want to upset things more than they already are......

Oh dear. So many problems from such a simple thing.

Plus my friend finally got back to me with some details of places for hire and their costs. Woooo. We are having our wedding in a barn at this rate. Everything is so expensive! I feel bad now because I have the dress already and I'm not going to have anywhere to wear it!!!

Anyway then my "family" rang me last night, they are settling back down now that their son is back from Canada. I bet he's finding it weird. And the husband's brother just adopted a baby from Uraguay. They had 2 hours to decide whether to take the baby or not, because he was going to an orphanage. How hideous to think a human life can be decided on in such a short space of time, but luckily although it will be totally weird for the child to grow up in a totally alien environment, they are nice people.